Equality Standard for Sport

The Standard is owned by the 5 Sports Councils through the Sports Councils Equality Group (SCEG).

The first ever equality Standard for sport was launched in November 2004. It was last updated and re-launched by SCEG in March 2012 to ensure it remained fit for purpose and reflected the latest equality legislation.


How to achieve

The Standard is a framework for assisting sports organisations to widen access and reduce inequalities in sport and physical activity from under represented individuals, groups and communities.

It is based around two broad themes: developing your organisation and developing your services and four levels of achievement:


View more


View more


View more


View more


The Equality Standard logo can only be used with the permission of UK sport, or one of the home country sports councils.

Permission for use will normally be granted once an organisation has achieved the foundation level of the Standard.

Copies of the logos associated with the Equality Standard are available from your home country sports council. There is an overarching Equality Standard logo and there is one logo for each level of the Standard.

Once your organisation has achieved a level of the Equality Standard, you can display the logo relevant to the level that you have achieved on your website and documentation.